If there is one thing engineering students dread more than semester exams or getting placed in TCS, it has to be the submission week in college. File submissions should be as easy and smooth as getting into T-SEC (the college equivalent of TCS; you can’t possibly not get in), but it never is. Procrastination being the main culprit. For all you idiots retards arts grads, procrastination means “delay”, something you’ll did while studying for board exams. Anyways, so we end up doing an entire semester’s work in a few days. It’s just a superpower engineers have, to do shit quickly when deadlines approach. The feeling we experience the day we submit the last file is exactly what Dobby felt when he got his sock. Master gave Dobby a sock. Master gave Dobby clothes! Dobby is a free elf now!

Vivas are equally deadly. Jon Snow knows more than we do during vivas. There’s just one thing going on in my mind when asked questions is ” What the fuck is this?” But let’s not talk about depressing things. My vivas and submissions just got done. Let’s leave that topic and talk about what you’re really waiting for. How the fuck did you get BITS Goa to associate with you? Honestly, I have no clue myself. I guess they don’t know this blog gets 4.5 views a month (the half view being someone who clicked on this post accidentally while searching for a real good quality blog). So that’s that. Whatever the reason is, I got to spend 3 days out there, enjoying their fest, Waves, with the full swag of a sponsor (don’t judge me for use of “swag”).

                                                               BITS Pilani- K K Birla Goa Campus

I had applied to BITS Goa 2 years ago for admission. I lost out due to 15 marks. Now they invited me there. Ironic, huh? They had some really awesome events lined up with their big 3 being Natyanjali (group dance), FlashP (fashion show) and Mr. and Ms. Waves. They were giving Rs. 50k+ to winners of some events. Fucking rich festival, I must say. So what makes this festival so different, besides the fuckloads of money they have? Well, the first thing I noticed was that the different societies in college (music society, literature society etc) were the ones handling the events. Waves, was responsible for the finance, PR and logistics. This is new for me, since I’m used to the festival committee doing it all, but it is a nice concept since it takes away a lot of pressure and workload of the festival committee’s shoulders. This is something I can see many colleges adopting in the future. Secondly, this fest is in Goa! Seriously, who doesn’t like Goa? Besides parents; when their kids want to go there. Suddenly they react as if all that their kid is going to do there is drugs. That is so not true. There’s alcohol as well. Anyways, let me write about my experience of the festival, at least the ones I remember….. when I was sober…. and on campus (only a fraction of my trip satisfied all three criteria).

The accommodation which they provided was great; nothing too lavish but pretty comfortable. No complaints there. They have a lavish 180 acre campus, which sounds great but makes you curse every time you realize the nearest food is a 7 minute walk away. I wonder how the lazy students survive on campus. Maybe I’m not all that sad about losing those 15 marks. People from all across the country were here. I figured I’d participate in a few events as well. I reached the finals of JAM and Show Me The Funny, their stand up comedy event. It turned out to be a great first time experience in stand up. I’m looking forward to doing it more often. Like I said, 2 years ago I wanted to go there for engineering. Now I went there and did stand up comedy. Pretty much the same thing. It was fun interacting with people from all over the country. Searock, their semi-pro band competition was amazing! Waves actually managed to get AKING to judge the finals!!! After all, a Rs. 60,000 cash prize is no joke. Natyanjali saw some fantastic dance performances and FlashP had some hot chicks beautiful women on stage. Jukebox had some professional quality performances. I could go on and on about all their events. Basically, they were all good, but could be just a little better managed.

                                                                Show Me The Funny Finalists

While on campus I heard they had a Lover’s Lane, because there were no streetlights on that road. *wink wink* There is also a Smoker’s Lane, because who is going to walk for 10 minutes all the way till the gate just for one cigarette? Don’t worry BITSians, I won’t reveal the location of your secret spot out here. There also seems to be a very famous “Mark7” on campus who has contributed a lot to the college’s intranet. *ahem ahem* The campus is great overall. They have well furnished classrooms and labs. The interesting thing is that all the buildings on campus, right from the hostels to the academic buildings are interconnected. Students need not step out onto the road at all. This comes handy in the rain, unless you want to make the most of it in lover’s lane :p

This is a festival definitely worth checking out. I got a chance to interview Lost Stories, Vishaal Rasquinha, Being Indian and AKING #SponsorPrivileges. Those articles will be out soon. The Salim-Sulaiman concert they had was a super hit! It truly made students Escape Reality. I’d love to visit this festival in the coming years to see how they evolve. If my submissions get done on time, that is. I’m typing this while suddenly realizing my semester exams begin in less than a week. Oh engineering you bitch!

Check out what the stand up comedy judges had to say about me

Rohan Parekh

If you liked this article and want to stay updated with our latest posts, like The Campus Box on Facebook, and follow us on Twitter and Instagram.